Onwards & Upwards

I try to keep my work out of this blog but it would feel like a huge omission to leave this out. I will strive to keep this to my personal relationship with Diane Farris Gallery over my professional one.

My boss recently announced that after nearly thirty years as an art dealer she’s closing the gallery and continuing as an online entity.  While it is sad to see the end of Diane Farris Gallery as we have come to know it, it is rather exciting to be part of its final stage. Over the next couple of months we will rework the website and expand our online presence but this afternoon Diane Farris Gallery closed its doors for the last time.

I have been Diane’s Associate Director for the last year, the Gallery Manager before that, administrator, assistant and originally an intern. Since 1999 I have worked almost every position in the gallery and learned more than I could have imagined when I dropped off my resume. I definitely never would have imagined I would be the one to turn the key on the gallery’s last day.

My first memories of DFG date back to long before I knew or worked for Diane. On sunny, summer afternoons as a child my dad would take me for art walks. We would stroll up and down South Granville and take in the various galleries. Diane Farris Gallery was always a favorite. Massive paintings by Attila Richard Lukacs and Chris Woods,Kathryn Jacobi‘s haunting figures, these are the artists I emulated in highschool. I actually did a report in grade 10 on the homoerotic imagery in Lukacs’ paintings – at Byng … supper proper, west side, conservative Lord Byng! Want to guess how that went over?

Walking into 1565 West 7th was like visiting a cathedral of contemporary art. That ground was sacred to me.

Around 2001 Diane moved her gallery across the street to 1590 West 7th. The space was smaller but friendly. Since Diane announce the closure of the gallery we have been flooded with well wishes from various visitors, some of them clients and neighbours, regulars who pop in to see the shows and other’s that only visit once in a while. The message from all has been the same, the gallery will be missed.

I will forever be thankful to Diane for giving me the opportunity to be part of the gallery team and work with all the artists I grew up admiring. Congratulations are due for 28 years in a tough business and  thank you for leading the way for future generations of women in the arts.

PS if you have been wondering why there have been no posts recently, please reread the above post along with my last post – I have been rather busy.

2 thoughts on “Onwards & Upwards

  1. Hah-Byng wasn’t THAT conservative, but I’d like to know how it went over (and who the artist is…)

    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

